The Queen's Anniversary Prize 2016


The Prince of Wales and The Duchess of Cornwall present the 2016 Queen's Anniversary Prizes for Higher and Further Education to 21 educational establishments.

The Queen's Anniversary Prizes are awarded every two years to universities and colleges who have carried out important work displaying excellence, innovation, impact and benefit, both for the instituion itself and to the wider world in general.

​The Prince of Wales and The Duchess of Cornwall presented the prizes to each institution at a ceremony in the Ballroom at Buckingham Palace, before hosting a reception with The Princess Royal for the prize winners.

Recipients of this year's prize included the University of Greenwich, recognised for the research and development of a staple African crop - cassava - with food security and economic benefits for rural families and communities.

The University's Chancellor, Baroness Scotland and Vice-Chancellor Professor David Maguire were among those from Greenwich attending the ceremony and were presented with a silver gilt medallion and a decorated and inscribed certificate, signed by The Queen.

This is an extremely proud day for the whole University. The Natural Resources Institute has once again been recognised upon the national stage, which is a fine tribute to the hard work and world-class expertise of our staff

Professor David Maguire, the University of Greenwich

The awards are managed by the Royal Anniversary Trust, which was created to commemorate the 40th anniversary of The Queen's accession to the throne in 1992.

Watch University College London explain more about the significance of The Queen's Prize:

Related content

A speech by Her Majesty The Queen at the Grand Final of BBC's 500 Words, Buckingham Palace

Between you, you have created more than a million stories of thought-provoking adventure for future generations to study and enjoy. Thank you to everybody who has taken part...

28 February 2024

The Queen's Introduction to Queen Mary's Dolls' House's Modern-Day Miniature Library

It has continued to enchant generations of children and adults who come to marvel at its perfect proportions, extraordinary attention to detail and, perhaps above all, the...

30 January 2024

A speech by The Queen Consort at the University of Aberdeen

Ladies and Gentlemen, you have a great past: 5 Nobel Laureates and 525 years of academic excellence. Your future, I know, will be greater still and, as your very proud...

18 January 2023

The King visits Bedfordshire

06 December 2022

Remembrance 2022

10 November 2022

The Paddington Project

15 October 2022

The King's Audiences

10 September 2022