Some information on this website may be out-of-date following the death of Queen Elizabeth.

The Queen's Medal for Music 2018 awarded to Gary Crosby

Published 10 July 2019

The Queen's Medal for Music 2018 has been awarded to jazz musician Gary Crosby OBE.

The award, established in 2005, is presented annually to an outstanding individual or group of musicians who have had a major influence on the musical life of the nation.

The Queen presented the award to Mr Crosby in an Audience at Buckingham Palace today, Wednesday, 10th July 2019.

Mr Crosby is the fourteenth recipient of the award, and follows Thea Musgrave CBE, who received The Queen's Medal for Music 2017 last year.

The nominating process for the award is overseen by a committee chaired by the Master of The Queen's Music, Judith Weir, whose recommendation is then submitted to The Queen for approval.

Commenting on this year's award, Judith Weir said: “Looking around the UK’s currently thriving jazz scene, the name of Gary Crosby is constantly cited as the person who has encouraged a whole generation to look again at jazz and become involved. Gary has achieved this over many hard-working years, as part of his own practice as a bass player and teacher. His career is an inspiration to musicians and educators in every area of music, and I am delighted to see him awarded The Queen’s Medal for Music in recognition of this.”

On receiving the award, Mr Crosby said: “I’m honoured to receive The Queen’s Medal for Music, and humbled to join such a distinguished group of Medal recipients. As a founder of Tomorrow’s Warriors, I’m also delighted to be recognised for my work as an educator and mentor to the many young jazz musicians we’ve worked with over the years.” 

Notes to Editors

The Queen's Medal for Music is presented annually to an outstanding individual or group of musicians. Nominees for the award may be of any nationality. 

The award was first presented in 2005, of which the recipient was conductor and composer the late Sir Charles Mackerras. Other recipients of the award include:

2006 Sir Bryn Terfel CBE
2007 Judith Weir CBE
2008 Kathryn Tickell OBE DL
2009 Sir Colin Davis CH CBE